Yosemite Part 2 (Finally!!)

It’s been almost two weeks since I was in Yosemite and I am just now getting to this post.. oops!  Time flies, it is almost June!  Where has the year gone?  Excuses excuses.. sorry..

Where did I leave off?  Friday I ran 22 miles, went on a mini hike, hung out at the beach & then ate Matt’s awesome burgers!  Aahh.. good times..

Before I get to Saturday, I wanted to show the three bear canisters where we kept our food!  Every year we have so much food.  This year was no different, but it’s better to have too much then not enough right?

At least this year we attempted to be organized!

The bottom of all three canisters was where we put the ice chests.  In the top portion of this one was where our snacks were!  Even little Theo knew where the good stuff was!

The second one was half bread and the other half fruit.

The last one was filled with drinks!  Lots and lots of drinks!

Ok back to Saturday.  We woke up Saturday and prepared for a big hike!  About half of the group decided to hike up to the top of this waterfall!

Upper Yosemite Falls is 3.5 miles up & 3650 ft in elevation gain.

The hike has multiple sets of switchbacks to get you up to the top!

This view of the waterfall is maybe half way?

Can it get any better than this?  That’s halfdome in the back.

This is Todd at one of the overlooks.  It took us about 2.5 hours to make it to the top!

The top was where all the good photos were taken!

The waterfall looks a little different looking down on it!

Teresa & I are taking in the scenery while making sure we don’t slide off.

Once you get to the top there is an overlook that you have to hike down some sketchy steps to get to!

Looking down on the overlook with the waterfall to my left.

We enjoyed the scenery and ate a little lunch! Salami & cheese on crackers with Matt’s famous beef jerky and all sorts of other snacks.

Mark, Teresa & Matt went up a little farther to get to this point! You wouldn’t believe Mark’s afraid of heights from looking at this picture would you? 😉

Todd & I went down first & the others came a little after.  It took us 1.5 hours to get down for a total hiking time of 4 hours.

Todd & I were in charge of Saturday’s dinner.  The kebobs we brought last year were a hit so we did it again!

Todd cooked the kebobs over the fire.

Teresa was on fire duty!  She did great, our fire was going strong until bedtime!

We used Seaside Market’s Burgandy marinated Tri Tip for the meat & added onions, bell peppers & mushrooms.

For our side dish I made Angela’s Back on Track Wheatberry Salad.  I loved the chewiness of the wheatberries.  I’m excited to use them more!

Food always tastes so much better after a great workout & while sitting in front of a campfire!

I had to sneak in some Bea & Theo pictures because I miss them already!  What a happy family! =)

Beatrice looks so happy in this one!


Grammy/Mimi & Theo giving hugs!

Here are some s’mores pictures!  Beatrice made a nutella & peanut butter s’more!  Theo wanted a s’more but then hated the sticky marshmallow on his hands.  All he wanted for the rest of the night was chocolate and I’m pretty sure he ate a whole Hershey’s bar!

What a great night!  Little did we know what we would wake up to!

SNOW!!!  I woke up to use the restroom at 6ish and there was double this amount of snow!  Unfortunately, my camera was dead so all these photos were ‘borrowed’.

The snow was beautiful but a big pain.  It was coming in at an angle so it was on everything! Trying to pack the cars was tough.. my hands were frozen.  I did not come prepared for snow!

We had the best of both worlds.  A sunny day on the beach & then waking up to snow on Sunday!  Who would’ve thunk it!?

One last Gleed/Carvajal family photo.

Yosemite 2012 is booked!  See you next year Yosemite!

2 Comments

Filed under Adventures

2 responses to “Yosemite Part 2 (Finally!!)

  1. Cheri

    Thanks for all the stories and darling pictures! I really missed being there with all of you! That hike looked pretty intense! But so beautiful!

  2. Mark G

    Afraid of heights? Me? Would I be standing on the very treacherous edge of an incredibly high overlook if I was afraid of heights? Teresa looks more worried than me!

Leave a Reply

