Yosemite 2011 (Part 1)

**Take Two – I had this post 75% done.  When I went to finish it, it was gone!  I guess I didn’t save it .. though I’m positive I did!! Soo frustrating! Now for round two!**

Hello Yosemite!! 

Every Spring for the last 3 years (I think?) Todd and I meet his family in Yosemite National Park for an extended weekend camping trip!

We stay in Housekeeping Camp that consists of huts with three walls, a canvas cover and a canvas curtain.  As you can see there is also a covered ‘patio’ where we cook and prep before sitting at the campfire!

My bed was the top bunk this trip.

We arrived Thursday around 2pm and it was a BEAUTIFUL day (mid to high 70s)!  I was expecting highs in the 50s, so weather in the 70s was a pleasant surprise!

Once everyone settled in, we went for a stroll around the valley.  Spring is definitely the time to visit Yosemite!  All of the water falls are bursting with water & the crowds are a minimum.

The Merced River winds through the valley and through the campgrounds.

Half Dome at a distance.  I’m so glad I climbed it when I did (backpacking trip 3-ish years ago).  During the season when the cables are up, you now need permits 7 days a week!

For some reason I love this picture.  This random dead looking tree with Upper & Lower Yosemite Falls in the background.

Thursday was a very low key day.  After our little stroll we set up camp, started a fire, and ate some of Lisa’s amazing chili & salad.  No pictures =(  I made it an early night because I had a big day Friday!

Rock and Roll Marathon is on June 5th!!  That means this weekend was my longest run of the season!  To be honest, I was terrified!  I was running solo (without VAVI), I was in Yosemite where I’ve never ran before.. and there was a little more altitude than I’m used to at Sea Level!  I decided to get this run out of the way Friday morning to leave the rest of the weekend free!

I woke up at 5:45am and started running just after 6am.  Pre-run breakfast was a banana because I wasn’t going to wake up an hour earlier to eat more!  The banana would have to do.

I did some research to find the best running route in the valley (no hills).  I saw a 12.5 loop on Map my Run and thought I’d do that twice.  Turns out my loop was a little different than the 12.5 mile one and was actually 17 miles!  Well, 17 miles including a couple out and backs.  I did get lost a couple times having to turn around at dead ends.  One of the trails I was running on led me to the river.  There was so much water that my trail was in water!  With my mini detours, the loop was 17 miles meaning I just needed to do a smaller loop to get to 22!  It was perfect!

Todd joined me on my run at mile 15!  He rode next to me on the beach cruiser for the rest of the way.  It was a great change in scenery to have him there. We talked and I listened to him as he sang to me!  He also brought me coconut water, refilled my water bottles & fed me Cuties for the last three miles.  I think those cuties were life savers.  The act of peeling them and then eating them kept my mind occupied.  I had my own traveling aid stations! Does that exist race day??  Thanks Todd!  You were awesome.

What more can I say about that run.. it was AMAZING!  The miles flew by as I admired the scenery. I took photos along the way & kept my eye out for wildlife bears!  It really was night and day difference from last weeks 20 miler.  I didn’t hit the wall I hit last week!  I think I hit a mini-wall at mile 20.5ish but I was so close it didn’t matter.

Overall Stats
Time: 03:32:38
Distance: 22.01 mi
Elevation Gain: 583 ft
Calories: 2,495 C

22 miles completed! Now I feel ready to tackle 26.2!

The valley was so different at 6:30am as the sun was rising.  You could see the sun peaking above the mountains.  I snapped away with my iphone!

This was the road I ran on for a good amount of time! Sorry it’s a little fuzzy but I wanted you to see how beautiful it was!

The elevation in the valley was around 4000ft.  Being at Sea Level most of the time I was a little worried to see how it would affect me.

Elevation
Elevation Gain: 583 ft
Elevation Loss: 583 ft
Min Elevation: 3,864 ft
Max Elevation: 4,034 ft

The sun rising above Upper Yosemite Falls.

Bridalveil Falls.  We need to do this hike next year!

My only goal for this run was to run and not walk! My plan was to consciously try and run slower than usual!

Split
  Time
Distance
 Pace
Summary 03:32:38 22.01 09:39
1 00:10:15 1.00 10:15
2 00:10:54 1.00 10:54
3 00:09:56 1.00 09:56
4 00:09:49 1.00 09:49
5 00:10:14 1.00 10:14
6 00:10:28 1.00 10:28
7 00:09:39 1.00 09:39
8 00:09:42 1.00 09:42
9 00:09:34 1.00 09:34
10 00:09:33 1.00 09:33
11 00:08:35 1.00 08:35
12 00:09:02 1.00 09:02
13 00:09:12 1.00 09:12
14 00:09:05 1.00 09:05
15 00:09:10 1.00 09:10
16 00:09:29 1.00 09:29
17 00:09:48 1.00 09:48
18 00:09:14 1.00 09:14
19 00:10:09 1.00 10:09
20 00:09:55 1.00 09:55
21 00:09:19 1.00 09:19
22 00:09:24 1.00 09:24
23 00:00:02 0.01 06:16

Looking at how these paces are all over the place and knowing that my Garmin lost satellite signal randomly, I don’t know how much I trust it.  All that matters is that I ran 22 miles!

Post Run ice bath was in the river!! It was sooo cold! I didn’t last in there for more than a minute (if that!)

After eating some breakfast leftovers and showering, we went as a group to hike to Lower Yosemite Falls.

Todd & Beatrice

Love the attitude in both of them! If only Beatrice had her eyes open!

Angela & Theo

Hiking meant playing on rocks!

Todd & Beatrice

And rock walls!

Mark & Beatrice

And more rocks..

Matt

And tree limbs!

Upper & Lower Yosemite Falls

In this photo you can see Upper & Lower Yosemite Falls.  The hike to Lower Yosemite Falls takes you to the base of it.

Lower Yosemite Falls

There was so much water it created wind & lots of mist!  It felt like it was raining at times!

We had a great little hike with some great views!

Friday’s weather was once again beautiful! We spent the rest of the afternoon before dinner at the beach! Yes, at the beach!  There was a sandy area along the water where we set up our chairs & played some horseshoes, bocce & napped.  I napped =)

What a day!

Dinner was Matt’s famous hamburgers we are excited for every year!  Toppings included sauteed mushrooms and onions.. cheese.. avocado..

And bacon!

(Oh and of course the usual lettuce, tomato, mayo, mustard & ketchup)

We all ended up taking pictures of our burgers because we were soo proud!  This photo was my favorite.. but I couldn’t tell you who’s burger it was.  I just know it’s not mine because it has mayo on it!

We also thought the bite picture was necessary!  It was!

Lisa

Me! (Yes that is my MITITW poncho! It was a staple!)

Matt (a.k.a. The Chef)

Beatrice

Even Beatrice had to show off her dinner as well!

Dessert was smores by the campfire! I created the Nutella smore!!  Beatrice made a Nutella & Peanut Butter smore!  They were amazing!  I wish I had a photo!

Part 2 will include Saturday & Sunday!

3 Comments

Filed under Adventures, Marathon, Running

3 responses to “Yosemite 2011 (Part 1)

  1. We want to take a trip up there so bad! I love the little places you stayed in, I will definitely have to look that up! (I believe you are also the one that got me hooked on vrbo.com, so thanks for upgrading my travel daydreams!)

  2. Cheri

    Great blog and pictures!So cute of all of you. I can’t wait to see the next edition with lots of white stuff and maybe your famous K-bobs!

Leave a Reply

