20 mile recap!

Yesterday I set out to run 20 miles with VAVI for my second to longest training run before the marathon! (it is 4 weeks from today!)

It started with a train ride that lasted all of about 17 minutes from Solana Beach to Oceanside.  We took the train up the coast and ran back!  The distance between stations was 16 miles.

The anticipation was tough. I just wanted to run but we had to wait for the train and then ride the train before we could start running.  I get soo nervous on runs with distances I’ve never seen before!

As we were about to arrive in Oceanside, I go to turn on my Garmin & nothing happens.  My Garmin won’t turn on. Thursday I ran 10.5 & my Garmin died within 250 meters and yesterday it wouldn’t even turn on!?  It was on the charging cradle ever since Thursday!  This made me even more nervous! Not knowing my pace or mileage was not good for a 20 mile run!

No Garmin means no fun run stats.  Sorry =(

The run started great with a good size group running about a 9min/mile pace up until the first aid station at mile 6+.  At this point we stopped, drank some water, & discussed our options.  In order to get 20 miles in we were going to have to add 4 miles onto the end of the run.  Some of us (5 of us) decided it was a good time to add-on 2 miles by going East one mile & back.  Our group was now split in half.

My legs did not like stopping at that aid station!  It took a good three miles to get them feeling somewhat normal again. Somewhat normal meaning they still felt really heavy & didn’t have much juice in them.

During the next 8 miles-ish before our next aid station our group of 5 split into two groups of 3 & 2.  Brett, Mike & I kept a pretty good pace somewhere in the low to mid 9’s I think.. none of us had a Garmin so we’ll never know =(.  I wish I could say those miles felt good.. but after the first 6 I never had that sensation!

Once we hit VAVI’s second aid station at mile 15 I guzzled down Ultima & water because I thought I needed it.  With my water belt I probably should’ve been drinking more water slowly so I didn’t get to that point.  I’ll try that next time.  I also took my second gel.

I felt revived (so I thought) from that rest break and tried to give myself a pep talk saying ‘5 miles is nothing’.  After about a mile, Brett & Mike’s pace was faster than I wanted to run.  My body was stressed but more my mind.  I could barely listen to my music as it seemed too much for my stress level.  I needed to calm down and try to enjoy myself.

“There will come a point in the race, when you alone will need to decide. You will need to make a choice. Do you really want it? You will need to decide.” – Rolf Arands

I was by myself for the last four miles and not wanting to run anymore.  I think I walked most of the last hill getting into Solana Beach & did a walk/run combination for the last bit.  I never thought I would ever have to walk!?

My final time was something like 3hrs and 15-20 minutes.  Thinking about it, that’s not too bad considering.  3:20:00 would be a 10 min/mile pace and including all the time we were stopped at aid stations & the time I was walking, that’s not too bad.  My running pace is pretty consistent I think.

I did complete 20 miles but was very discouraged once I was finished.  This run was so tough physically and even more mentally!  After an awesome 18 mile run last week it’s amazing how different this 20 miler felt.  To sum it up, it was miserable! I doubted myself & the idea of running a marathon.

After lots of thinking, I think I’ve come to peace with that run.  I know that sounds weird.. but I was really frustrated. Running a marathon is no joke.  I completed 20 miles! At this point in my training, all that matters is getting the mileage in.  I am trying to get myself to believe that!  You can stress and worry over pace and how you measure up to others but ultimately, it doesn’t matter.  This is my race, nobody elses.  I am going to do the best I can and it’s going to be an accomplishment!  Every run is a learning experience making me stronger and preparing me for race day.

“It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners. Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants you to quit.” – George Sheehan

I have a little less than a month now to prepare myself.  I am going to get in as many miles as I can, fill my body with healthy foods & enjoy it as much as I can!

After our run, I came home, drank a green monster with protein powder, some greens from the CSA box that I had no idea what they were, half a banana & some chia seeds.  It was delicious and nutritious.

I then lied on the living room floor with my feet up on the couch ottoman and proceeded to nap in that position for a good couple of hours.   It took me awhile to be able to get up off the floor and take a shower!

Real food came after my shower in the form of a sandwich thin with egg whites, cow cheese & some jelly!  Eggs and jelly are a great combination!

Last night was a Todd night.  We went over to a friend’s house to watch the fight.  I know nothing about fighting and don’t care to to be honest.  I went along, watched the fights while playing on my phone and ate way too many Tapatio Fritos! Yes.. I said Tapatio Fritos.  I’d never heard of them either but they were tasty.  It was a Cinco De Mayo celebration with lots of yummy carne asada, pork, beans etc etc.. I definitely ate my share!

After the fights were over the boys played poker while the three girls watched the Royal Wedding.  We watched the highlights which was 1.5 hours long!  This was the first time watching it and I have to say I learned a lot about Great Britain and the royal family.  I sat their googling Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace & the Royal Family tree. Interesting stuff it is..

What an eventful Saturday! Emotions of all kind! Hopefully you’ll get inspired to do something you didn’t think you could do.

“Whether you believe you can or believe you can’t, you’re probably right.”
-Henry Ford

6 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Marathon, Running

6 responses to “20 mile recap!

  1. Mary Ann

    A half marathon is the most I’ve ever done, but I’ve learned that some days it’s like your body just doesn’t have it, regardless of whether or not you are trying to push yourself further than you have been. Who knows all the variables that go into it. But I’m guessing it was just one of those days and I think it was a good call to be patient with yourself and remember that it is your run. And most likely, next time you’ll be surprised by how good you feel and how much you can do! =)

  2. Stephanie

    Try not to let one run upset you. I am running the Rock N Roll Half and my body is starting to feel the pain/discomfort at 8miles. I have been having doubts about finishing 13.1 miles. Reading your blog and seeing how hard you train I know you will be able to finish the marathon and in a time you are happy with! Good Luck!

    • I forgot you were going to be there! So exciting =) We’ll have to all celebrate together! Hopefully you’re already celebrating when I’m done =)

  3. Hi Tammy! We are totally in the same running group! haha. CRAZY! 🙂 Rock n Roll will be my first marathon and I couldnt have done it without VAVI. Keep up the hard work and You will do great!! 2.5 more weeks and we are marathon runners! woohoo!!!!

    • Haha awesome! What a small world! Wow, you girls are awesome with your P90X!! I really need to do some strength training and see all your results makes me want to even more!!

Leave a Reply

