I’m Back!

I’m back!  Did you miss me?  Sorry for the lack of blogging recently.  I had to put my head in a book every second I could.  Literally.  Don’t worry.. I didn’t forget about you or forget to eat for that matter.

A  quick catch up since I know you missed food photos!

Homemade pizza with pesto, mushrooms arugula & parmesan.

If only every meal was that exciting.. most of my meals seemed to look something like this.

Sandwich from Wich Wich to eat while studying.  I did a lot of studying at a coffee shop with food nearby.  Cooking at home was too distracting. Being at home was too distracting.  I’ve spent way too much money on eating out recently.  Need to start cooking at home starting NOW!

Let me give you a recap of this weekend.  Saturday morning I was up before 6am to drop the boys off at their bus (Vegas Rugby trip).  After dropping them off I headed straight downtown to do some cramming before the test at 1:30pm.

I don’t know downtown at all.  I drove in circles many times.  I finally picked Brickyard Coffee & Tea.  It looked cute & there was parking outside.  I think that was what won me over.  Not having cash or change for a meter is really a problem in the city.  Note to self, bring cash next time!

Brickyard is not an understatement! The interior was mainly brick as well.

It was a very quaint place & perfect for me to get a couple of hours of studying in while having some coffee & breakfast.

My cute little table by the window.

I had a latte & a bagel melt.  The melt was huge! I think there were like 4 eggs total!  Each half of the bagel could’ve been a sandwich on it’s own if it had a top but they put the same stuff on both halves!  It had ham, onion, tomato, egg, cheese & seasonings.  Due to it’s size, this became breakfast AND lunch! The first half at around 7:45 & the second half with a banana at like 11:30 I think.

I got in a good couple hours finishing all the problems I had to do.  I left Brickyard to find my next stop.

I ended up at World Market  just because I walked by it.. I went to Starbucks for a little more review.. then I found a parking lot to keep my car in the for test ($10 for 10 hours).  By this time it was maybe 11:30.  I ended up eating my lunch in the car & resting for 45 minutes before walking over to the test location before sitting for another hour!

This was the longest morning ever!  At one point I just wanted to take the test already to get it out of the way.  My nerves were getting to my stomach, I couldn’t nap, couldn’t study anymore.. I didn’t know what to do with myself!

Finally it was test time.  The test was not easy, but I don’t think it would ever be easy.  Even if I was a land surveryor.  It was 50 questions and we had 2.5 hours.  Time is the hardest part of this test!  You don’t have time to try and figure something out, you either know it or you don’t.  Some problems took me a couple minutes just to figure out what the picture was or what they were asking!

It’s over and now I just wait.  If time is the hardest part, the 2nd hardest part is this waiting!  In 10-12 weeks we will get our results!  10-12 weeks to run the scantron in the machine.

I needed some sort of celebration after this was over.  I wanted a beer and some dinner at some point.  The beer was more important than the food.  I called my mom and met her at Yummy Sushi in Carmel Mountain Ranch.

We sat at the bar & had a great time.

Seaweed salad

Beer & Sake!

Roll with tuna on the inside & salmon on the outside.  Don’t remember the name.

Ikura

Yellowtail

They had a chef’s special menu which had some pretty crazy stuff on it.  I took a picture of the Uni Tempura for Todd.  He’s a big Uni fan.  Me on the other hand, not so much.

My date for the night

Our sushi chef.

I was home and in bed by 10:30 I think.  I had to get up and get another long run in by myself.  Not fun to run alone!

I wanted to run 16 miles just like last week.  Ragnar is next weekend and I wanted to try and keep that same distance so after Ragnar we can pick up the mileage even more for Rock & Roll.  This morning I was not feeling it at all! I must’ve been really dehydrated because I couldn’t get enough water.  I think I stopped at every water fountain I could find!

I ran out 7 miles & then back home.  It was a long & slow 14 miles.  The paces don’t really look like it but my watch does stop when I stop so the ~5 times I stopped for water don’t show up.

Split
Time
Distance
Pace
Summary 02:12:06 14.00 09:26
1 00:09:16 1.00 09:16
2 00:09:14 1.00 09:14
3 00:09:26 1.00 09:26
4 00:09:07 1.00 09:07
5 00:09:12 1.00 09:12
6 00:09:54 1.00 09:54
7 00:09:31 1.00 09:31
8 00:09:15 1.00 09:15
9 00:09:05 1.00 09:05
10 00:09:35 1.00 09:35
11 00:09:37 1.00 09:37
12 00:09:57 1.00 09:57
13 00:09:29 1.00 09:29
14 00:09:20 1.00 09:23

 

 

Encinitas Street Fair was this weekend so I did get to run through it on my way home.  Probably the highlight of my run.  I know I said this before but I need to run more during the week!  And maybe a longer than 5 mile run or two!  I think it’ll help my long runs on the weekend.

Today was very long & eventful after my run as well.  I braved the crowds & went back to the street fair to stop at a bike shop & buy new running shoes!  I also bought a water belt.  I was very hesitant as those things aren’t cheap & I’m afraid I’m going to hate it but I figured I need more water on my long runs so I probably should have something.

I took lots of pictures at the street fair but maybe I’ll share those later.  I’m not in the mood to upload more photos.. if only I was faster!

After lunch by myself, a flat tire changing bike clinic, michaels, american apparel, henrys & then picking up my new Luna Kit I was ready to go home!  What a day!

Now that studying is over.. it’s crafting time!  Ragnar is in 5 days & we have to figure out how to decorate our vans!  Any ideas would be appreciated.

9 Comments

Filed under Adventures, Eating Out, Exercise, Marathon, Restaurants, Running, San Diego

9 responses to “I’m Back!

  1. Maxine

    You must be relieved to have the test behind you! Hopefully this will be the last time you need to think about it. I’m thinking positive thoughts about test scores…. Keep us posted!

  2. Cheri

    So glad to hear your big test is finished! Congratulations on all your hard work!

  3. What time do you guys start for Ragnar? Are you van 1 or van 2?

  4. Leslie A.

    Yay!! I’m glad you’re back, I missed the blog posts. Have fun this weekend, it’ll be such a fun experience!

  5. I’m totally dying for sushi now. And that mushroom arugula pizza. MMMM.

  6. Janie

    I think it’s cute that when you were done with your test n wanted to celebrate u called up Mom. Super cute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

