Dr. Grand Canyon or: How I learned to stop worrying and love the blog

Hello blog readers! Todd here commandeering Tammy’s blog for one quick post. I recently took a backpacking trip to the Grand Canyon, and decided that this would be a good way to share some details and pics from the trip. I was invited on this 5-day 4-night adventure by my brother Mark and his girlfriend Teresa. Also joining us was Mark’s roommate Sean, Teresa’s dad Tom, and longtime friend Matt (names have been changed to protect privacy).

We arrived at the Grand Canyon Sunday, with plans to get on the trail early Monday morning. Here’s out first look at the canyon.

We had a nice campfire, and ate a good campfire meal of steak, sausage, potatoes, and peppers, wrapped tightly in foil. We seasoned it with salt, pepper and beer. Very nice.

We went to bed on a cold but clear night and woke up to about an inch of snow.After packing, checking, and weighing our packs, we were ready to hit the trail.

Luckily there wasn’t any ice on the trail, so the going wasn’t too difficult. The difficult part was knowing that we were heading down below the snow line to reach…rain.

Mark and I taking a look at the path we are heading for.Mark was so focused on putting his right foot in front of his left foot that he nearly ran into a deer and his friends by the side of the path. The deer was nonplussed.

After reaching camp, Matt hiked an extra 6 miles down to the Colorado river to go fishing. The rest of us had dreams of trout as we awaited his return, but no such luck. We spent a cold night at Bright Angel campground, but luckily awoke to clear skies.

It was quite amazing to look up and see the snow we had come through. It was the Grand Canyon as I had never seen it before.

Here’s a purple cactus for Matt.The second day was our longest day, at just over 10 miles. There wasn’t a whole lot of elevation change, so we could maintain a pretty good pace. Our campground was only a mile and a half from the river, so Matt and I took off down a trail I remembered from my last trip to this campground, a.k.a. we walked down the creek.

The next one is me saying, “Did you get my hat in the frame?”

Matt and I watched the rapids for a while, hoping to see a boat come down the river, but one never did. The rapids were awesome, bigger than I remember them. Our next day our hike would only be about 4.5 miles, and the campground was right next to Hermit rapids, so we thought we might see a boat then. Here’s the beach and the rapids, no boat.The next day we didn’t have much of a hike, under 2 miles.

We spent the day swimming in a little pool with a waterfall, and lounging in the sun. We were resting in preparation for our hike out the next day, our last. It would be over 8 miles, with major elevation gain. I have painful memories of coming down this trail in previous trips, perhaps mostly because I hiked pretty much directly from an uncomfortable car seat. The good part of our fears was that it got us up right around sunrise, which in my opinion is the best part of the day in the GC.

Tried to capture what I could in a photograph.

Unfortunately I have no photos of the after hike celebration, but the times were good.

4 Comments

Filed under Adventures, Exercise

4 responses to “Dr. Grand Canyon or: How I learned to stop worrying and love the blog

  1. Maxine

    Looks like quite a trip!

  2. Wayne

    I hiked down the Bright Angel trail at the end of last summer. The view from inside the canyon is amazing. I kept looking up thinking “Did I really start all the way up there?” I can’t believe there was so much snow! Did you go rim to rim or down to the canyon floor and back?

    • Todd

      We started and finished on the south rim. Down Bright Angel into the canyon, across the Tonto platform, a few days close to the river, then up Hermit Trail. A 25 minute shuttle ride took us back to the cars.

  3. Cheri

    Hey Todd!
    Nice blog! Did you know that I hiked out the Bright Angel Trail with a broken toe to attend your parents wedding?

Leave a Reply

