I want to be ‘greener’ (Part 1)

I want to be more conscious of how my actions affect the world around me.  I want to recycle more, waste less & conserve where I can.  I know it’s better for the environment & can be better for me!  Habits are tough to break, so I plan to do this slowly.

First things first, I made my own laundry detergent!  No more plastic containers that fill up our landfills & no more foreign ingredients.

One thing I want to make clear is that I do not know what Borax or Super Washing Soda are or if they are safe.  One of these days I’ll do some more research.  This may not be great for the environment but it is probably better than store-bought!  At least I’m not adding another plastic container to our landfills every time I buy detergent!

There are many recipes for homemade detergents out there.  Google it if you want.. I found multiple dry detergents as well as a couple of liquid ones.  Here’s what I decided to try.  I don’t remember what site I got it from but it’s on many.

I found my ingredients at Ace Hardware & Trader Joes.

I did a cost comparison to see if this option is cheaper than store-bought detergents.  Here’s the recipe as well as cost breakdown.

Homemade Laundry Detergent

2 cups borax – $5.99 for entire box (16/76oz) = $1.26
2 cups baking soda – $1.49
2 cups super washing soda – $4.49 entire box (16/55oz) = $1.31
3 bars Dr. Bronner Organic Soap (grated is about 4 cups) – $6.00

About 10 cups using about 1/8 cup each load = 80 loads of laundry
Total Cost – $10.06 for 80 loads

I’m pretty sure this is a good price!  I know when we would buy our detergent from Costco it was somewhere between $17-$20 for 110 loads.

Here’s how you make it.  First grate your cheese bars of soap with a fine grate.  Your cheese grater will be nice and clean after this!

Get some kind of reusable container that will be your detergent holder.

Mix the grated soap, & all the other ingredients and you’re done!  Use about an 1/8 a cup per load.  Every now and then mix it up to prevent the soap from sinking to the bottom.

Todd and I have used this detergent now for a couple of weeks. I wanted to make sure our clothes didn’t fall apart or smell before sharing this but I think it’s safe!  And it was soo easy too!

Notice how I put Part 1 in my title.  I want to make a basic spray cleaner and deodorant someday soon!  There will be more to come!

2 Comments

Filed under Adventures

2 responses to “I want to be ‘greener’ (Part 1)

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this! I too *want* to be greener, but it is definitely a process. This will help bring me one step closer 🙂

  2. Wow, that is so awesome! Thanks for sharing this ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

