Half Marathon THIS weekend??

I am running the Safari Park Half Marathon this weekend! It seems so unreal, so much different than the last one.  I think a lot of it has to do with VAVI’s training program. They are not training for this race so I don’t hear about it non-stop. I have to adjust their runs to make them fit my schedule. Regardless, it’s coming whether I like it or not!

The course is basically a big out & back similar to Carlsbad Half.  They changed it on us & added the second hill!  But we get to see animals! =)

I’m hesitant to give myself any real time goal for this race for a couple reasons.  First, I’ve never ran this course so I have no idea what to expect.  Second, I have a much bigger goal in mind (Rock n Roll Marathon in June) & I don’t want to hurt myself or prevent myself in any way from completing that race.

On a side note, when did the Wild Animal Park become Safari Park? I recently as in today realized the name wasn’t just the half marathon name but the park name?!  Is it just me? Where have I been..

This week I was very light on the running.  I still have some issues with my calves/achilles from that Vibram Run! I know I have the endurance to run a half marathon so I took it easy to try and give my calves as much rest as possible.

I ran twice this week.  A 4 miler at lunch early in the week.

Split
Time
Distance
Pace
Summary 00:34:52 4.00 08:43
1 00:09:04 1.00 09:04
2 00:08:43 1.00 08:43
3 00:08:23 1.00 08:23
4 00:08:41 1.00 08:42

And then I woke up early and ran before work today!  I’m so proud of myself. It feels sooo good to get your workout out of the way!  Next week at 6am it’ll probably be dark..  I guess those are the trade offs for it being light till almost 8pm.  I can’t wait!  My run stats this morning were as follows:

Split
Time
Distance
Pace
Summary 00:37:42 4.00 09:25
1 00:09:32 1.00 09:32
2 00:09:31 1.00 09:31
3 00:09:20 1.00 09:20
4 00:09:16 1.00 09:16
5 00:00:01 0.00 07:56

I have no idea what the Split #5 is all about.  Zero distance but one second. Who knows..

Instead of running this week, I went to yoga Wednesday & Thursday night.  I hit up my local Encinitas Studio & then the La Jolla studio.  The La Jolla studio used to be my studio as it was closest to me until I moved north.

I was disappointed when leaving that studio because the Encinitas studio isn’t as hot, has carpet in lieu of whatever the flooring is in La Jolla & doesn’t have showers.  The flooring in La Jolla is some sort of black almost corkish material that is supposed to help with the smell & it helps me from sliding around as much.

After going to both studios this week, I realized I definitely got used to the Encinitas studio!  La Jolla was very humid.. I was dripping with sweat more than I have in a long time!  It was awesome, I miss it, I need to do that more!

I learned that my Encinitas studio is starting 6am classes next week on Tuesday & Thursday!  Such a great way to start your day!  Any one in the Encinitas area want a yoga buddy?  A 6am yoga buddy?  Let’s do this.. together!  I know I could use some motivation to get myself out of bed!

Happy Friday everyone!  I’m off to go find some water.. oops!  Need to hydrate!  Make it a great weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Marathon, Running, Yoga

2 responses to “Half Marathon THIS weekend??

  1. What an awesome idea for a run! I think that truly would be exciting!! Seeing the animals would keep yuor mind off the race!
    Good luck this weekend!

    Cheers

  2. It switched names sometime last year…but I grew up going to the “Wild Animal Park” so I refuse to accept the change! I totally blew it and didn’t sign up on time…which is probably for the best since I’m still coming back from my injury. Good luck! I can’t wait to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

