Butternut & Black Bean Chili

Wow.. it seems I like chili huh?  This is the third one I’ve made since January?! You can check out those recipes here and here.  I think I like the other two better but I still don’t think you can go wrong with chili.

This chili included a butternut squash in my CSA box, black beans from Costco (did you know Costco had black beans?) and the two star ingredients were coffee & beer!

Butternut & Black Bean Chili

1 cubed butternut squash
1 onion chopped
3 cans black beans (rinsed)
2 cans diced tomatoes with juice
1 chipolte pepper chopped
1/2 jalapeño chopped
2 tsp adobo sauce (sauce that the chipolte pepper is in)
1 pckg instant coffee (about 1 tablespoon)
16oz dark beer (I used Todd’s stout he brewed)
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
black pepper

I sautéed the onions & squash & then added all the seasonings & cooked for a minute or so.  I then added the beans, tomatoes & beer.  Let simmer for as long as your little heart desires (or until desired thickness).  I think I let mine simmer for about an hour and a half. Adjust seasoning as desired & enjoy!

I used a pint of beer out of Todd’s Stout keg.  I had to taste it first for quality assurance!

I found this instant package of coffee & decided to throw that in.  Stout & coffee go well together right?

Lunch is served… for a couple of days this week 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Soups

Leave a Reply

