A Lovely Saturday

As per usual, my Saturday morning started with my VAVI run.  We ran a nice 8.5 miles around Mission Bay.  Lots of races going on today.  I think we got in the way of a 15k in the same area!  Oops.

Run stats:

Split
Time
Distance
Pace
Summary 01:19:18 8.50 09:19
1 00:09:15 1.00 09:15
2 00:08:56 1.00 08:56
3 00:09:04 1.00 09:04
4 00:09:45 1.00 09:45
5 00:09:30 1.00 09:30
6 00:09:38 1.00 09:38
7 00:09:49 1.00 09:49
8 00:09:22 1.00 09:22
9 00:03:54 0.50 07:49

After the run I came home and did some icing.  Ever since my Vibram run/walk, my calves have not been the same.  I could barely walk after the run this morning. :/  I have been heal striking to put less stress on my calves.  Once again, be careful in those Vibrams!!

After icing, Todd & I picked up Jill and went to retrieve our cars.  Jill and I had a little too much ‘fun’ last night & decided it was best to leave our cars.  Todd was so kind to help us this morning by taking us to them.  We were relieved to find that our cars were where we left them and had not been towed.  I was a little nervous. (More details on my Friday night to come)

I think we planned this because that meant we got to hang out again this morning! Two times in two days is unheard of with our schedules!

We went to breakfast in Carlsbad at Don’s Country Kitchen.

I ordered a Benedict with Avocado instead of Canadian Bacon with the Hollandaise sauce on the side.  I’m not a huge fan & it’s not the best thing for you.  I ordered mine with cottage cheese and a biscuit on the side.

It was delicious, I cleaned my plate!

After strolling around Carlsbad a little with Jill, I came home to this!

Todd & I laid in our backyard, got some sun & did some reading.

I of course was reading Edible San Diego which is a quarterly magazine about local food in San Diego.  I love reading about the new happenings & new restaurants.  In this issue I found a film to go see, a new organic taco stand down the street from my house & information regarding an elementary school in Leucadia that is attempting to follow in Alice Waters’ footsteps with their ‘Garden’ School.  If you are interested in any of this stuff, you should check out this magazine.

Have a great Saturday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating Out, Exercise, Marathon, Running

Leave a Reply

