Muffin Love

I’ve still got it!

Split
Time
Distance
Pace
Summary 00:51:30 6.00 08:35
1 00:08:33 1.00 08:33
2 00:08:32 1.00 08:32
3 00:08:54 1.00 08:54
4 00:08:29 1.00 08:29
5 00:08:34 1.00 08:34
6 00:08:27 1.00 08:28

 

After a conversation this weekend about my slow pace, I decided to see what I could do during my lunch time run today. TOYF (time on your feet) will pay off in the end! You don’t have to run fast every run.. but once a week is good to mix up your training.

Ok back to the food..

I bought blueberries last week to make some of my favorite muffins and I finally got the coconut milk to do it.  Don’t be afraid of the coconut!  Todd is not a coconut fan but he likes these muffins.  Coconut is good for u!  Try these!  Best straight out of the oven.

Loaded Blueberry Coconut Muffins

recipe from Jessica

1 1/2 cups all purpose or whole wheat pastry flour (I used all pastry)
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup coconut oil, liquid
1 egg
1/4-1/2 cup coconut milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup shredded coconut
3/4 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 400.

Mix flour, sugar, and baking powder in a large bowl. Add coconut oil, coconut milk, vanilla, and egg, and mix until combined. Fold in shredded coconut and blueberries. Top with a sprinkling of raw turbinado sugar.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

Eat with butter, coconut butter, or just plain.

I decided to try out another one of Jessica’s muffin recipes.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Muffins

recipe from Jessica

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or all-purpose)
1 cup rolled oats
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup milk (any kind will do)
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350.

Add oats to a bowl and add 1/2 cup of milk. Let soak for 5-10 minutes, while you prepare the first few steps of the muffins.

In a large bowl, combine egg and brown sugar and whisk until smooth and caramel in color. Add in vanilla and butter, whisking well. Try to smooth the batter as much as possible – there still may be some small butter chunks. Add flour, oat mixture, baking soda, salt and cinnamon and mix. Add remaining milk and combine until smooth. Fold in chocolate chips.

Line a muffin tin with lines and pour about 1/4 cup batter into each line. Sprinkle the tops with raw turbinado sugar. Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until cooked through. Serve with butter!

My batter was a lot thinner than Jessica’s looked. I think where I went wrong was not allowing my butter to come to room temperature as it didn’t ‘cream’ with the sugar as it should’ve. I also used all-purpose flour because I used all my pastry in the coconut blueberry muffins. Make sure you have room temperature butter & I think pastry flour is best.

Look at the chocolate chips in this muffin! Chocolate overload! Maybe 1 cup of chocolate chips is a bit much, next time I’d use less.

So, coconut blueberry were awesome & oatmeal chocolate chip needs some practice! Practice makes perfect 🙂

Hmm.. muffins for dinner?

Just kidding.. Dinner was pizza!

BBQ Shrimp Pizza

TJ’s Garlic & Herb Pizza Crust
Shrimp
BBQ Sauce
Red Onion
Bell Peppers
Shredded Cheese

We sauteed the veggies & then put pizza together.  Bake at 400 until crust is cooked in the center (about 30mins)

And we shared the last beer!

Today I was thinking about Spring coming which means Summer is coming that much sooner!

I can’t wait for:

– Tomato Soup

– Endless Tomatoes in my CSA Box that I don’t know what to do with

– Summer Squash Pizza

– Watermelon Salsa

– Popsicles

– Running after work in the daylight

Just a few summer thoughts.  It’ll be here before i know it!

G’Night all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise, Recipes, Running, Snacks, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

