Intervals are no joke!

Let me first tell you about my mishaps today.  They always come in threes dont they!? 

First, on my lunch break I went to a local market that I bought a Groupon for the other day. I wanted to spend my $15.  I was looking at the eggs, finding a package that didn’t have any broken ones and all of a sudden when I stood up, I had shooting pain in my neck.  Somehow looking at eggs I kinked my neck!  This pain would not go away & the rest of the day I couldn’t move my head or do much with my right side.

Second & Third, while at work sitting at my desk I came to the realization that my posture sitting at my desk was probably not helpful for my neck.  I attempted to raise the height of my chair.  This should’ve been easy but somehow I couldn’t figure it out and I ended up on the ground under my chair inspecting the situation.  Next thing I knew I sat up too fast, hit my head real hard on the chair and split my pants at the seam in the crotch area!  That is NOT great for a female’s self esteem!  I guess the 6+ years I’ve gotten out of those pants is good enough.. or shall I go get the tear fixed..

So with a stiff neck, a bump on my head & torn pants… My boss and I decided to try out the SD Tri Club’s North County ‘track’ workout.

Sometimes VAVI’s Tuesday night runs are just too far away for me. I am lucky if I get there on time!  This seemed to be a great alternate option!

The workout for tonight was 5 x 1000 meters.  These intervals are no joke!  I was in dead last place for all 5!  My recovery was 2:00 in between each one. (The disadvantage for being last is you get less recovery time.. well mine was the scheduled amount, everyone else should be thanking me that they got extra!)

I thought about giving up after the 2nd interval, but I kept going.  After the 4th one I went to the coach and told him I think I’m done.  He then told me I hadn’t completely recovered yet, I’m breathing, I’m not dead and told me his motto.  He told me to never give up after an interval, start the next one and see how I feel.  If you then feel like you can’t do anymore, slow down & turn that lap into your cool down.  I took a couple breaths and said ok I can do that!

Wow! I’m glad I kept going, but it was not easy.  My 1000 meter times varied from 4:26 to 4:45 I think was my last one.  I heard people saying you want to try and keep each interval within 5 seconds of each other.  Now I know what I can work on for next time.  I know this is what I need to increase my speed!

After inhaling about 1000 chips with bean salsa I knew I should eat a real dinner.  I wanted greens in the form of a salad.  I took everything out of my fridge that could go in a salad.. this is what I came up with!

Then I sauteed a homemade Black Bean Burger & put half on top.  Recipe for the burgers will come next time I make them.  These I miraculously found in the back of my freezer.  Score!

Once Todd got home & I realized he was not going to eat the other half, I added that to my salad as well.

I am always thinking ahead when it comes to food & seem to multi-task often in the kitchen.

Assembly line of salads.  Now we have a lunch or two for later in the week!

Remember the tahini I made to go with the Kalamata Olive Hummus?  Well, tonight I’m using the leftover tahini to make this salad dressing:

Lemon Tahini Dressing

Recipe came from Gone Raw

½ cup raw tahini
½ cup water
¾ tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon red wine viegar
2 clove garlic, minced or pressed
½ teaspoon salt
.125 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon cumin, ground (optional)

Whisk all ingredients together & let sit for 15 minutes before serving.

This dressing should last for about a month in the fridge.

Look what came in the mail today!

I received these as a gift for Christmas but the size didn’t work out so I mailed them in for an exchange.  My new ones came today! I’m excited to start wearing them around.  Thanks again Kathy!

Now it’s time for some laundry & maybe a heat pad on my neck…

8 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Running

8 responses to “Intervals are no joke!

  1. Intervals push you to the limit. During the running they are the worst ever, but after don’t you feel so awesome and accomplished? And they make you faster, woo =)

  2. Patricio Malibago

    Quite an interesting day!

    It’s been months since I’ve done intervals, but I know what you mean. They’re brutal! And I’ve only done 800’s. I can’t imagine how tough 1000’s would be. Great job finishing all 5 of them. 🙂

  3. Missi

    You had me cracking up in this blog! I love the picture of the pants with the tear in them. I could totally picture all of this stuff happening to you! Good job with the run chica.

  4. mom

    Hi Honey ! Wow ! What a day! never found out about the best thing to do about the neck Toni was working. Ohhh I dont like you to have those kind of days. But great job on the run and the lesson you learned! love You!

  5. Leslie A.

    What a day! The good thing is that those kind of days only happen every once in a while. Good job on the tough intervals, I despise them and don’t know if I’ll ever be able to do them again, haha. I hope you slept a lot last night and that today is already better than yesterday 🙂

  6. Lindsey

    Can’t wait for the black bean burger recipe!

  7. Holly (eatrunsandiego)

    I love that despite a “stiff neck, a bump on your head & torn pants” you decided to go for a run! Way to rebound. My favorite pair of jeans finally split in the crotch but I can’t bring myself to throw them away bc I love them!

Leave a Reply

