It’s official!

Tonight at VAVI’s Running Club orientation I signed the papers & paid the dues!  I am running a marathon on June 5th! I am running a marathon on June 5th! It’s not sinking in yet.. maybe if I just say it a few more times.. I am running a marathon on June 5th! aahh  It’s going to be a busy Winter/Spring!  It seems I like it like that.  Lots to look forward to!

Now for some food..

Eating out at lunch during the work week can get expensive!  I know a sandwich, chips and a drink can run you around $10 near my work!  That’s $50/week!  I like to try and come up with recipes that are easy, healthy & delicious to keep our lunches exciting & cheap!  I think this entire recipe probably costs less than $10! I would much rather spend that money elsewhere than on my daily lunch! Agree?

This week I made a basic lentil soup but added some wheat berries to change the texture a bit & threw in some green lentils because I wanted to use them up!

Lentil & Wheat Berry Soup

1 cup red lentils
1/2 cup green lentils (split pea?)
1/2 cup wheat berries
2 carrots chopped
2 stalks of celery chopped
1/2 onion chopped
1 can chopped tomatoes
2 cloves garlic chopped
1 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp bay leaves
2 ham hocks (optional for flavoring)
8 cups water
salt & pepper to taste

Throw it all in the crockpot & cook on low for 8 hours!

I used an immersion blender to puree it but you can use a blender if you don’t have one or you can leave it as is.

It’s totally a personal preference thing!  Season as desired and enjoy!  Don’t forget the bread & siracha!

Now where were those running shoes? …

8 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Marathon, Recipes, Running, Soups

8 responses to “It’s official!

  1. Congrats! Good luck with the training. 🙂 And yes, eating out for lunch can be really rough on the wallet. There aren’t a ton of good eats where I work, so temptation’s reduced and more reason to bring my lunch.

  2. Holly (eatrunsandiego)

    I just signed up for the RnR full too! I’ve been wrestling with the idea of joining the Vavi training group…the fact that you decided to do it again after C’bad tells me it’s probably worth it.

  3. It’s probably going to sell out! Come Tuesday night, test it out and then sign up if you like it after that! That’s if it’s not sold out already. Let me know if you’re interested and I’ll fill you in on the details.

  4. Well…I signed up! What can I say, I am easily persuaded!

  5. Ashley

    I am running my first marathon at SD Rock and Roll Too!! I am training with Team in Training–Time to get to it! 🙂
    My boyfriend lives in SD–So if you ever want a running buddy—Let’s do it!! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Half Marathon THIS weekend?? | iEatNeat

Leave a Reply

