My #1 Fan!

Tonights dinner is dedicated to my number #1 fan.  I wanted to do something special for him (my bf) since he woke up at 6am to stand outside in the cold & watch me run 13.1 miles!  It doesn’t seem like the most exciting spectators sport but he was there the entire time with no complaints! Love him!

When asked what he (my bf) wanted for dinner this week, one thing he mentioned was meatloaf.  Of  course, the first thing I did was try to find a good healthy meatloaf recipe but then decided this isn’t for me, it’s for him so I found a recipe for meatloaf wrapped in bacon! That’s sounds more like it..

First gather your supplies.

Pioneer Woman’s Favorite Meatloaf

  • Meatloaf:
  • 1 cup Whole Milk (used almond milk as thats what I had)
  • 6 slices White Bread (the cheap stuff! 99cents/loaf)
  • 2 pounds Ground Beef
  • 1 cup (heaping) Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • ¼ teaspoons Seasoned Salt (didn’t have any so used regular)
  • ¾ teaspoons Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • ⅓ cups Minced Flat-leaf Parsley (used Mizuno from my CSA)
  • 4 whole Eggs Beaten
  • 10 slices Thin/regular Bacon
  • Sauce:
  • 1-½ cup Ketchup – (I used a mixture of ketchup & bbq sauce because I ran out of ketchup)
  • ⅓ cups Brown Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Dry Mustard
  • Tabasco to taste (used siracha)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Soak bread in milk.

Mix eggs, ground beef, parsley, parmesan, milk soaked bread, salt & pepper in a bowl.  Use your hands and get dirty!

Make sauce by mixing ketchup, brown sugar, dry mustard & tabasco

Shape into a loaf on a broiler pan which will allow the fat to drip (cover underneath pan with aluminum foil to make cleanup easier)

Wrap ‘loaf’ with bacon strips tucking each piece underneath.

Pour 1/3 of sauce mixture over meatloaf & place in oven for 45 minutes.  After 45 minutes pour another 1/3 of sauce mixture over & return to oven for another 15 minutes.  Slice & serve once meatloaf is no longer pink! Enjoy with the extra sauce!

***I ended up having to cook mine for probably 1.5 hrs as the bacon prevents the inside of the meat from cooking.  Try and find very very thin bacon as it will help with this.  For some reason, everyone sells thick cut bacon!  Maybe a butcher where they will slice it for you right there would be good.***

That green fungii looking stuff is sauteed purple kale!  I know it doesn’t look very appealing but we needed some veggies to go with the meatloaf & it was very tasty.

I foresee a salad for lunch tomorrow.. Next time we’ll try out some turkey meatloaf or even a lentil loaf!

“The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and to let it come in.”
-Morrie Schwarts

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “My #1 Fan!

  1. That definitely looks like a guys meal. I bet he was thrilled! And thanks for the wonderful comment on my site. 🙂

  2. Pingback: What’s Next? | iEatNeat

Leave a Reply

