Taper Week

I am officially in taper mode for my race on Sunday.  The ‘taper period’ for a half marathon is shorter & less drastic than if I were tapering for a full marathon.  Never the less, I am running less mileage & and at a lower intensity.  I am also eating more carbohydrates to store some fuel for Sunday.  This week turned out to be the perfect time to make 4 sourdough baguettes!

My training this week consisted of two 5 mile runs & one 3 mile run.  The stats are as follows.

1st 5 mile run:

Split
Time
Distance
Pace
Summary 00:46:34 5.00 09:18
1 00:09:23 1.00 09:23
2 00:09:26 1.00 09:26
3 00:09:19 1.00 09:19
4 00:09:16 1.00 09:16
5 00:09:06 1.00 09:06
6 00:00:01 0.00 08:57

3 mile run:

Split
Time
Distance
Pace
Summary 00:26:38 3.00 08:53
1 00:08:58 1.00 08:58
2 00:08:45 1.00 08:45
3 00:08:54 1.00 08:55

2nd 5 mile run:

Split
Time
Distance
Pace
Summary 00:46:50 5.00 09:22
1 00:09:20 1.00 09:20
2 00:09:17 1.00 09:17
3 00:09:33 1.00 09:33
4 00:09:19 1.00 09:19
5 00:09:18 1.00 09:19

I probably should’ve ran a little slower in these runs to back off on intensity even more.  Now I just need to rest my legs.. I’ve been getting calf, shin, foot soreness the last day or so. I’ve heard about ‘fantom’ injuries before a race so that’s a possibility but as long as I stretch & ice them I think I’ll be fine.

I plan to go for a walk on Friday & Saturday to keep my legs moving.  I’m getting nervous! My main focus for this race is to not start out too fast!  I have this goal in mind that I think I can reach (if I have a great race & it may be pushing it a bit..), but if I start too fast, I will run out of steam!  A typical long run for me will start slow & end fast so that is what I need to focus on.  Can’t wait for pre & post race festivities!

On another note, recently I bought a tub of kalamata olives at Costco.  It was an impulse buy that I’ve snacked on for weeks & there’s barely a dent in the tub!  If there are any ideas out there for recipes I would greatly appreciate it. Here’s my first one:

Kalamata Olive Hummus
recipe came from here

10 -15 kalamata olives (pitted)
1 1/2 tablespoons tahini
3 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 cup yogurt
15 ounces garbanzo beans
salt to taste

I followed this recipe kind of. I used the juice from half a lemon, I used probably a little more than a can of garbanzo beans (I had some dried ones that I soaked overnight & then cooked), I kept adding olives until I liked it, the yogurt I measured for some reason, olive oil I added until I liked the consistency & I made my own tahini!

When I make hummus, I ALWAYS make myself sick from tasting as I go.  You would think I’d learn..  For some reason, I don’t follow measurements very well & I prefer to ‘wing it’.  I like to keep tasting it until I like it.  My stomach doesn’t like me right now, maybe I shouldn’t make hummus anymore! Can’t do that.. it’s sooo good!

Back to the tahini!  I made my own tahini!  I didn’t have any in the house and I didn’t want to go spend $5 on a little jar at the store (I made up that price.. no idea how much it really costs).

I looked it up online & tahini is just sesame seeds & olive oil! I took the sesame seeds I had, toasted them in the oven and blended them with as much olive oil as necessary to make a paste.  No need for it to be pouring consistency when I’m adding it to hummus. Easy & cheap!

Hummus tastes great & is good for you too with protein & good fats!

Tomorrow is Friday!!  hooray!

“Joy is what happens to us when we allow ourselves to recognize how good things really are”  Marianne Williamson

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Recipes, Running, Snacks

2 responses to “Taper Week

  1. Maxine

    OK, now I have to try making tahini rather than buying it. I’m learning a lot from your blog. Have you tried making tapenade with your olives? It’s great with crackers/bread or on pizza. Good luck in your race!

Leave a Reply

