Crockpot Love

What’s better than coming home to a hot dinner?!  Anything? I didn’t think so!

Tonight we had one of my favorites.. Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili.  I know I’ve used recipes to make this before, but this time, I made my own recipe from memory of the others!

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili

– 1/2 yellow onion chopped
– 1 chili of choice (I used one from my CSA box that I don’t remember the name, if you are sensitive to heat keep that in mind and you don’t need the whole chili)
– 2 cans of diced tomatoes with juice
– About 5 small sweet potatoes diced
– 3 cans of black beans (drained & rinsed)
– 2 teaspoons smoked paprika
– 2 teaspoons cumin
– 2 teaspoons chili powder
– 1 teaspoon garlic powder
– 1 teaspoon coriander
– 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
– salt & pepper to taste

Put everything in crock pot & just cover with water or chicken/veggie stock and cook on low for 8 hours.  At about 6 hours I turned heat up to high & removed lid because I added a little too much water.  This can be adjusted to how soupy/thick you want it.  When finished add salt & pepper to taste.

Enjoy with a piece of freshly baked sourdough!  I top mine with some greek yogurt & siracha.. two of my staples!

I think I need something sweet…

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Soups

8 responses to “Crockpot Love

  1. Missi

    Yum… this recipe looks amazing. I love greek yogurt, but not sure about how it would taste on chili though!

  2. Mark G

    I am totally going to try this! Did you line your crockpot with plastic? Or is that just for the pic?

    • The plastic is a crock pot liner.. you can buy them at the grocery store near where the ziplocs and such are. It makes clean up easy since you just throw the liner away. This is the first time I’ve bought them but they seem to work pretty well!

  3. My mouth is watering. Do you deliver? 🙂

  4. Pingback: Butternut & Black Bean Chili | iEatNeat

  5. Pingback: Three ingredient cookies | iEatNeat

Leave a Reply

