Mission: Sourdough

I did it! I did it!  I made sourdough bread from my own starter!  I followed the 6 day process from The Fresh Loaf to a T.. and it worked perfectly.  Here’s an outline of what I did each day to form my starter:

Day 1:  1/3 cup rye flour & 1/4 cup water

Day 2: Added 1/4 cup bread flour & 1/8 cup water to all of starter

Before Day 3 feeding check him out! Alive and well =)

Day 3: Add 1/4 cup bread flour & 1/8 cup water to half of starter (throw away other half)

Starter needs to double before you can move on to Day 4.  Mine was having some difficulties so I gave it a couple tablespoons of  rye flour and a little water to wake it up! This took about three days for me to get it to double.

Note – You want to store your starter at around 70 degrees for the best results.  For the first couple of days I put him on the counter and hoped for the best though I knew it was not at 70 as we don’t keep our house at that temperature all of the time.

Around day 3 I realized we had a beer fridge in the garage used for fermenting beer.  We can keep the temperature at whatever we want inside that fridge.  That’s what I should be using for my starter!  Give it the perfect temperature to come alive!  This is what I did for the last couple days of feeding my starter.

Day 4: Add 1/4 cup bread flour & 1/8 cup water to half of starter (throw other half away)

Starter needs to double once again, you don’t have to wait 24 hours to proceed with Day 5

Day 5: 3/4 cup bread flour & 1/2 cup water to 1/4 cup starter. (throw the rest away) Put in a clean container

Now, you want your starter to get nice and bubbly before proceeding with Day 6.  This does not need to be 24 hours.  I waited 24 hours because it was convenient for me.

Day 6: Cover the starter and put in fridge.  It is ready to make some bread tomorrow!

Now that my starter is ready to go, it’s time to make some bread!

I’m following the procedure laid out here to make Sourdough Baguettes.  I fed 65 grams of my starter with 70 grams of water & bread flour in the morning of Day 1 and waited for about 6 hours.  When the starter looked all bubby, I added it with the other ingredients to my mixer:

-200 grams starter
-600grams flour (300grams bread flour, 150grams wheat flour, 150grams all-purpose flour)
-400grams water
-1 tablespoon gluten

I mixed together & let sit for 1/2 hour.  I then added 2 teaspoons of salt & mixed using the kitchenaid dough hook for 5 minutes.  Then I covered with a towel & let sit for an hour.

Note – Measuring in grams with a scale is soo much more efficient than measuring cups! Why aren’t all recipes like this?!  AND, there are less dishes when you are finished!

After an hour I folded the dough over itself a dozen times (if you’re interested in the specifics see the original site).  I then let it sit for  another hour & repeated the folding process one more time.  I covered the dough as shown & put it in the refrigerator overnight.

After work the next day I took out the dough, tossed the plastic wrap, covered it with a towel & let sit on the counter for an hour.  I then divided the dough into four pieces & shaped it into baguettes.  While the oven preheated to 460 degrees, I left my baguettes in a towel as shown to  hold their shape.

To get a nice and crispy crust, I put a cookie sheet in the bottom shelf of the oven & added boiling water to it just before adding the dough.  This part was scary as there was a lot of sizzling.  Baked or about 25 minutes and look what I have!!

Look at those holes!!

It was definitely sourdough.. and with aging, my starter will yield even more flavorful breads!

This just shows that anyone can make sourdough bread.

Mission Sourdough: Accomplished!

6 Comments

Filed under Bread, Recipes

6 responses to “Mission: Sourdough

  1. Yum…I love sourdough! That looks like a lot of fun to make.

    I also ❤ Pizza Port…been wanting to try Lumberyard too but haven't gotten around to it yet. Hubby and I ❤ pizza and beer 🙂

  2. Congratulations! Your bread looks great. Sourdough was my favorite bread in my pre-Gluten Free days. I have not had any in over 3 years 😦 but making a gluten free sourdough bread is on my to-do list. Enjoy your bread!

  3. Leslie A.

    The sourdough looks delicious!! Great job! What did you end up eating with it this time? A fun thing to do next would be sourdough bread bowls with homemade clam chowder 🙂

    • You will see what I ate it with 2nite =)

      Hmm.. bread bowls sound delicious! Maybe I’ll look that up and that’ll be next weekends bread.. though I don’t know if that’ll fit into the schedule after the Half Marathon.. I think I will be more up for pizza & beer!

  4. Maxine

    I’m so impressed! You’re inspiring me to try making my own sourdough starter. Your bread looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

