Snack Attack

One of my goals for this blog is to try new things.  I am going to use it as a platform to teach myself how to cook!  I want to try one new recipe a week as well as attempt to make my own every now and then.  Playing with recipes to see how each ingredient affects the final outcome is a hands on method for learning.  Does anyone really know what baking powder and  baking soda really do?  These are some of the things I would like to explore.

This week, I’m sharing my attempt at a healthier snack bar:

I’m not a recipe writer but here’s what I threw together on my first try… see what I would do different on my second try at the bottom.

Healthier Snack Bar

Wet ingredients:
1 cup dates (pitted and  chopped)
1/2 cup brown rice syrup
2 scoops TJs Roasted Flaxseed Almond Butter
1 tbsp Coconut Oil
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 egg white

Dry Ingredients:
1 cup Rolled Oats
1/4 cup each – Sunflower seeds, pepitas, sesame seeds, chopped walnuts, chopped almonds, unsweetened shredded coconut, semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 tsp Salt

Directions:

Mix dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl.  Combine all wet ingredients except for egg white on stove top and simmer until pasty.  Add egg white to dry ingredients & then add wet to dry & mix until thoroughly incorporated.  Using two sheets of parchment paper roll out mixture into baking dish and bake at 350 for about 15 minutes.

What I Learned & would do different next time:

-Do not use chocolate chips because when added with hot ingredients, they melt.. duh.. unless you want a chocolate bar that is..

-Use a higher ratio of dry to wet ingredients to see how little wet will keep the dry together. I think they were a little sweet and I think I’d like them a little drier.

-Use a smaller pan and make a thicker bar.  I used a cookie sheet and rolled out the mixture way too thin, I want a thicker chewier bar.

Is it only Tuesday?  My book & the bathtub are waiting for me =)

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Snacks

Leave a Reply

